Skip to content

Pacific Language Cards

Pacific Language Cards

Pacific languages are a key cornerstone for the health and wellbeing of Pacific people.

History shows us that a loss of language leads to a loss of culture and identity.

The Ministry works closely with Pacific communities’ to maintain and promote indigenous languages across the country, encouraging their use in our daily lives to help them thrive. As part of that commitment, we run nine Pacific Language Weeks every year.

Our Pacific Language cards are available in nine Pacific languages and are tailored to non-speakers of the language as a good starting point for all to use. Each provides a pronunciation guide, the alphabet and everyday phrases.

Download them all and help us celebrate Pacific languages every day of the year!

Cook Islands Māori (Kūki ‘Āirani Māori)

Fijian (Vosa Vakaviti)

Kiribati (Te taetae ni Kiribati)

Niue (Vagahau Niue)

Rotuman (Fäeag Rotuạm)

Samoa (Gagana Samoa)

Tokelau (Te Gagana Tokelau)

Tonga (Lea Faka-Tonga)

Tuvalu (Te Gana Tuvalu)