Congratulations to National Pacific Radio Trust appointees

posted: 1:09 pm - 7th August 2017
carousal PMN2

Pacific Peoples Minister Alfred Ngaro and Arts, Culture and Heritage Minister, Maggie Barry have announced several appointments to the Board of the National Pacific Radio Trust.

The new Chair, Tiumalu Peter Fa’afiu of Waiuku has considerable experience with Crown connected organisations and Governance. He is a former New Zealand diplomat and trade negotiator, and was the Head of Government and Community Relations for NZ Post and former interim CEO and General Manager of Tamaki Regeneration.

Minister Ngaro says Mr Fa’afiu is very experienced in governance, management and in providing quality leadership to a range of organisations. He is well respected within the business community and has strong connections beyond Pacific communities.

The new Treasurer is Sholan Ivaiti who has board and public service experience in the Cook Islands, including chairing the Cook Islands Fuel Pricing Committee, and has served as a director of the Bank of Cook Islands and the Cook Islands Superannuation Fund.

The Ministers also announced the appointment of new Board members Jody Jackson-Becerra and Sara-Jane Elika and the reappointments of Board Secretary Dr Lesieli MacIntyre and current member Martha Samasoni.

Ms Barry says the National Pacific Radio Trust is responsible for maintaining the national Pacific Radio Network, which exists to empower, encourage and nurture Pacific cultural identity and economic prosperity in New Zealand and to celebrate the Pacific spirit.

The reappointments are effective from 1 August 2017 to 31 July 2019 and the new appointments are from 1 August 2017 to 31 July 2020.

The Ministers also thanked and acknowledged the considerable service given by retiring board chair Ulu Aiono, Treasurer Willy Johnston and Board member Taualeo’o Stephen Stehlin.